Odisha HC lawyers’ boycott extended till July 12

Cuttack: The Orissa High Court Bar Association (OHCBA) has decided to continue agitation till July 12 in the general body meeting convened to take a decision on the future course of the boycott, here today.

Earlier, on June 26, the association had decided to resume the boycott till July 3 as it could not reach a decision to lift its boycott of the court of three judges, namely Chief Justice K S Jhaveri, Justice Sanju Panda and Justice S K Mishra, as per the advice of CJI Ranjan Gogoi.

The members of the bar association have been abstaining from attending the courts of these three Collegium judges from June 17, protesting against the appointment of lawyers who are not regular practitioners of the Orissa High Court, to the posts of judges.

Worth mentioning, the association has been demanding the filling up of vacant posts of judges by promoting regular practitioners and submitted a memorandum to the CJI, President of India, Prime Minister and Union Law Minister on May 22. The Collegium however, recommended a lawyer does not fulfil this criteria, thus sparking protest.

Reportedly, a delegation of the association also met the CJI on June 22, where the latter advised them to resume attending courts of the Collegium judges. However, the general body of the bar association could reach a decision on June 26 and continued agitation.

A meeting will be convened on July 12 to chalk out the next course of action.

Also Read

Comments are closed.