Odisha hockey star Birendra Lakra in Indian squad for Asian Games

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, Sept 4:

Dashing defender Birendra Lakra from Odisha has been included in the 16-member Indian Men’s Hockey team for the 17th Asian Games 2014, scheduled to begin in Incheon in South Korea on September 19.

Birendra Lakra
Birendra Lakra

The team was announced by the Hockey India this afternoon.

The players were selected on the basis of their performance in the recently concluded 20th Commonwealth Games this year, Bangladesh tour and selection trials conducted at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi on August 11.

The team will be led by captain Sardar Singh and vice captain PR Sreejesh.

The team, which is currently practicing at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi since 10 August 10, would leave for South Korea on September 12.

India will play their first match against Sri Lanka on September 21 followed by Oman on September 23, Pakistan on September 25 and China on September 27.

The team

PR Sreejesh (goalkeeper and vice captain, Gurbaj Singh, Birendra Lakra, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, VR Raghunath (all defenders); Dharamvir Singh, Sardar Singh (captain), Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Manpreet Singh (all mid-fielders); Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, SV Sunil, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Nikkin Thimmaiah (all forwards)

Also Read

Comments are closed.