Odisha imposes ESMA to prohibit strike by nurses, pharmacists, paramedics

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government today imposed Essential Services Maintenance Act (ESMA) to prohibit strike by nurses, pharmacists, paramedics, technicians, and other Class-III and Class-IV employees for six months.

The step has been taken to keep the healthcare delivery system in the state unaffected.

The Home Department of the State Government has issued a notification in this regard.

“It is necessary to prohibit strikes in the form of cessation of work by the Nurses, Pharmacists, Paramedics, Technicians, other Class-III and Class-IV employees etc. including contractual employees in services/ engagements connected with maintenance of medical services in the Government Hospitals and Dispensaries in the State like District Head Quarters Hospitals, Sub- Divisional Hospitals, Area Hospitals, Community Health Center, Primary Health Centers, Municipality Hospitals, ESI Hospitals etc. including Medical Colleges and Hospitals run by Government and other autonomous Health Institutions receiving Grant-in-aid from State Government, specifically AHRCC, Regional Spinal Injury Centre including Jail Hospitals, Police Hospitals etc. so that health care delivery system in the State is not affected/ disrupted,” the notification read.

“In exercise of the power conferred by sub-section (1) of Section-3 read with Section-2 of the Odisha Essential Services (Maintenance) Act 1988 (Odisha Act 9 of 1992), the State Government do hereby prohibit strikes in the aforesaid services. The order shall remain in force for a period of six months with effect from the date of issue,” the notification added.

Also Read

Comments are closed.