Odisha: Khordha MLA Jitu Mitra returns to BJP fold ahead of 3rd phase polls

Bhubaneswar: Jyotirindra Nath Mitra aka Jitu Mitra, the legislator from Khordha Assembly segment, rejoined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today in the presence of BJP-fielded Bhubaneswar MP candidate Aparajita Sarangi and several others.

Mitra had previously joined the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on March 11, 2019. He left BJD as he was denied a ticket by the party and was not fielded from Khordha Assembly constituency, this time.

The three-time MLA from Khordha had earlier quit BJD and joined BJP before 2014 General Elections. He was elected as Khordha MLA in 2000 as an independent candidate and retained his Assembly seat in 2004 on a BJD ticket.

Notably, Rajendra Kumar Sahu has been nominated by the BJD in place of Mitra for the simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and Legislative Assembly in Odisha.

Electioneering for the third phase polls ended in the evening and Mitra took part in a rally at Khordha town that started from Goshala ground. He was seen campaigning for Aparajita Sarangi and Khordha BJP MLA candidate Prashant Jagadev.

Also Read

Comments are closed.