Odisha KMBM Inter School Football: KISS, DPS set for title clash

Odisha Sun Times Sports Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Sept 12:

Defending champions Kalinga Institute of Social Science (KISS) will be pitted against Delhi Public School (DPS), Kalinga, in the final of Odisha’s major school football contest, the Kalinga Marine-Bibekananda Memorial Inter-School Football Tournament, at Unit-VI Govt Boys’ High School ground here on September 16.

In the semi-finals today, KISS outplayed Tapovan High School by 2-0 goals while DPS drubbed Ramakrushna Sikhya Kendra by 3-0 goals. Football

Sana Kumar Marandi opened the account for KISS in the third minute while Deepak Kumar Barada headed home the second goal for KISS in the 20th minute.

Sana was adjudged man of the second semi-final match.

Earlier, in the first semi final, striker Dhyanendra Bhanjdeo once again turned out to be the star of the thumping DPS win, scoring all three goals for his side. This was the second hat-trick for Dhyanendra, who bagged the Man of the Match award.

Dhyanendra opened the account in the 10th minute, putting the entire Ramakrushna defence on the wrong foot. He doubled the lead, heading home a cross from the right flank in the 29th minute.

The budding star, who received coaching for a month at Manchester United Soccer School in London three years ago, completed his hat-trick with a solo effort in the 47th minute.

The semifinal matches were officiated by Prakash Das, Siba Sankar Panda, Durga Routray, Rajendra Barik, Chandrakanta Behera, Khirod Das, Saroj Moharana, Amit Nayak and Basant Sahoo.

As many as 11 national and state panel referees, who have been officiating matches in the tournament, were felicitated on the occasion by sponsors Kalinga Marine Managing Director Maina Mishra.

The referees included Manoranjan Mohanty, PK Baliarsingh, Bilas Behera, Khirod Das, Maheswar Singh, Prakash Das, Rajendra Behera, Sankarsan Jena, Jitendra Samantasinghar, Susant Mohanty and Siba Sankar Panda.

Unit-VI Athletic Association, the organisers of the Inter School tournament, will stage the 5th Jayant Mohapatra Memorial Women’s One-day Football Tournament on Saturday.

A total of four teams—East Coast Railway ECoR), Government Sports Hostel, KISS and Urmila Football Academy—will participate in the tournament.

Also Read

Comments are closed.