Odisha LS bypoll: Rudramadhab, Abhimanyu file nominations

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Phulbani, Sep 26:

BJP’s Rudra Madhab Ray and Abhimanyu Behera of the Congress today filed their nominations for the bypoll to the Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat in Odisha, scheduled to be held on October 15.

survey-pollFive other candidates too filed their nominations papers today.

The bye-elections to the Lok Sabha seat was necessitated following the sudden and untimely demise of BJD MP Hemendra Chandra Singh on September 5.

The former MP’s widow Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh had filed her nomination papers yesterday.

A total number of nine candidates have filed nominations for the bye-election, an EC official informed.

Former Kandhamaal MP Rudramadhab Ray, who had joined the BJP recently, was given a party ticket to contest the bye-election.

He had represented Kandhamaal Lok Sabha seat from 2009 to 2014 as a BJD MP. He was denied a party ticket during the last general elections by the BJD and was suspended from the party for anti-party activities after the elections. He was charged with campaigning for Congress’s Harihar Karan in the last elections.

Former Phulbani MLA and Congress nominee Abhimanyu Behera filed his papers today with his party putting up a show of unity in the district. He was flanked by senior party leaders including PCC chief Jayadev Jena, former chief ministers Giridhar Gamang and Hemananda Biswal and former PCC chief Niranjan Patnaik when he went in a procession to the collector’s office.

“Now we are one and united. This is one of the happiest moments. We will unitedly fight the elections and we are sure to win,” Jena said.

Here is the final list of candidates, who have filed nominations for the bye-election- Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh (BJD),Sameer Kumar Kar (Independent), Mahammad Ziauddin Ahmed (Indian Citizens’Party),Birendra Kumar Gouda (Independent), Jalandhar Kanhar (Independent), Abhimanyu Behera (Indian National Congress), Subhendu Kumar Behera (Independent),Rudra Madhab Ray (BJP) and Kulamani Urma (Pashimanchala Vikash Party)

Also Read

Comments are closed.