Odisha MLAs give standing ovation to scientists for Chandrayaan-2 success

Bhubaneswar: The legislators cutting across party lines today gave a standing ovation to the scientists in Odisha assembly for the success of Chandrayaan-2.

Odisha Assembly Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro asked all the MLAs to give one minute ovation to the scientists for the historic event.

This came after Barachana MLA Amar Prasad Satapathy proposed the Speaker for this gesture.

India’s second Moon mission Chandrayaan-2 was launched successfully on July 22.

The three-stage GSLV-Mk III rocket carrying Chandrayaan-2 comprises of three segments – the Orbiter (weighing 2,379 kg, eight payloads), the lander ‘Vikram’ (1,471 kg, four payloads) and rover ‘Pragyan’ (27 kg, two payloads). It is scheduled to reach Moon by August 20.

It successfully completed its second earth bound orbit raising maneuver on Friday. The third orbit raising maneuver is scheduled for July 29. The first one was performed on July 24.

Also Read

Comments are closed.