Odisha: MPs can now speak in Santhali language in RS

Bhubaneswar: In a significant move, the Rajya Sabha (RS) Secretariat has arranged simultaneous interpretation facility for five more languages, including Santhali.

The four other languages include Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani and Sindhi, RS Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu. With this, the total number of languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution rose to 22.

On Tuesday, Naidu formally inducted the interpreters for these five languages. The move will now enable MPs speak in any of the languages in the Upper House from the upcoming monsoon session of the Parliament.

Santhali, a Munda language, is widely spoken in east-central states like Odisha, West Bengal and Jharkhand.

Also Read

Comments are closed.