Odisha Panchayat Poll Results: Ruling BJD heading towards clean sweep in 10 districts

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is heading towards a clean sweep in 10 districts, with counting of votes of the recently-concluded three-tier Panchayat Polls-2022 underway in the state today.

As per the latest trends, the ruling party is heading towards a clean sweep in 10 districts–Bhadrak, Deogarh, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Jharsuguda, Kendrapada, Malkangiri, Nayagarh, Puri and Subarnapur.

The leads also show that BJD was leading in 270  out of 315 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones while BJP candidates are leading 27 and Congress in 13. In Cuttack district, BJD candidates were leading in all ZP zones under 11 blocks, except Banki, Barang and Cuttack Sadar. In Cuttack Sadar, an Independent candidate is ahead of it rival candidates with 26 votes.   

However, Congress has failed to open account in as many as 24 districts.

In Koraput district, Independent candidate Mamata Jani is leading in Pottangi zone-1 against all-party candidate Tikai Gemel. Similarly in Sundargarh district, CPI(M) was leading in Bonai Zone-5 under Koida block, after one round of counting.

Also Read: Odisha Panchayat Polls: SEC relaxes restrictions for counting of votes

The phase-1 of vote counting began at block headquarters across the state at 8 am today in strict adherence to COVID-19 safety norms. Results of 315 Zilla Parishad zones will be declared today. Fate of 1,56,753 ward member, 32,860 Sarpanch, 27,034 Panchayat Samiti Member and 3,339 Zilla Parishad candidates will be decided today.

Counting of votes for 307 and 229 Zilla Parishad zones will be conducted on February 27 and 28, respectively.

Check live updates of Panchayat Elections Odisha, 2022 results -> https://sambadenglish.com/panchayat-elections-2022-live-results/


Also Read

Comments are closed.