Odisha panchayat polls: Elections countermanded in eight seats

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 5:

Elections in eight different seats for the upcoming three-tier panchayat polls in Odisha have been countermanded.

Elections to these seats were countermanded due to death of one from among the final list of declared eligible candidates.

The State Election Commission (SEC) today announced that elections for four Ward Members, two Sarpanches, one each for Samiti Sabhya and Zilla Parishad Member have been countermanded.

“As per law applicable for panchayat polls, in a case where a candidate from the final list of candidates drawn up on completion of withdrawals dies and election has not been held there is provision for countermanding the election. Till date elections have been countermanded in eight places in the state after completion of withdrawal of nominations on January 21. Out of them one is for the post of Zilla Parishad Member, two for Sarpanch posts, one for Samiti Sabhya post and four for Ward Member posts,” informed Rabindra Nath Sahu, Secretary SEC.

Elections to Sarpanch posts have been countermanded in Badambua panchayat under Bisra block in Sundargarh district and Tukudiha panchayat in Keonjhar district.

Similarly, elections to the post of Zilla Parishad Member from Zilla Parishad Zone -8 under Gania block in Nayagarh district have been countermanded.

Besides, elections to Ward Member posts in Ward no. 2 of Khirakona in Balasore district, Ward no. 9 in Dhusuri in Bhadrak district, Ward no. 21 in Bagalgad of Niali in Cuttack district and Ward no. 8 in Bamuni of Kosagumuda in Nabarangpur district have been countermanded.

Further, elections to the post of Samiti Sabhya in Badagaon under Balikuda block in Jagatsinghpur district have been countermanded.

Fresh elections will be held in these seats later, the SEC Secretary announced.




Also Read

Comments are closed.