Odisha polls: 22 BJP workers from Naveen’s Constituency join BJD

Hinjili: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Supremo Naveen Patnaik’s popularity has started showing its effect ahead of the elections 2019 as 22 members of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from his Assembly Constituency Hinjili joined Odisha’s ruling party today.

Expressing discontent over ticket allocations for the upcoming general elections and negligence towards local senior leaders in the party, BJP’s Ghumusara district working member Anil Kumar Mohapatra along with his supporters including former Hinjili councilor Bhika Behera preferred to be in BJD fold deserting the saffron party.

They were inducted into the BJD in presence of the ruling party’s Ganjam president Pradeep Panigrahi in Berhampur.

The mass joining of BJP workers in the BJD indicates internal rift and revolt against party’s state leadership.

Worth mentioning, the BJP has fielded senior lawyer Pitambar Acharya against Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for the Assembly polls from Hinjili.

Also Read

Comments are closed.