Odisha polls: Kalahandi MP Arka Keshari Deo resigns from BJD

Kalahandi: Expressing displeasure over allotment of parliamentary seat party ticket, Kalahandi Member of Parliament (MP) Arka Keshari Deo quit the BJD this evening.

“It was shocking and disheartening to hear the news on television. We have laboured tirelessly for the last five years. BJD had no presence in Kalahandi earlier, but then we won five MLA seats in the district, along with representatives in NACs and Zilla Parishad. We could have been notified prior to the announcement of the candidate list. I am in shock,” said the sitting MP.

Read here: Odisha Polls: After denied tickets, 2 BJD leaders resign

He has already tendered his resignation to party president Naveen Patnaik citing dissent over being denied a party ticket to contest in the polls and is awaiting a response or acceptance of his resignation.

Also read: Odisha polls: Former Paralakhemundi MLA K Narayan Rao resigns from BJD

Deo has been replaced by Kalahandi MLA Pushpendra Singh Deo to contest for the Kalahandi parliamentary seat in the upcoming elections.

Also Read

Comments are closed.