Odisha polls: Niranjan Patnaik files nomination from Bhandaripokhari seat

Bhadrak: Senior Congress leader and Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee President, Niranjan Patnaik today filed his nomination from the Bhandaripokhari Vidhan Sabha constituency in Bhadrak district for the upcoming Assembly polls in the state.

Patnaik submitted the nomination papers at the office of the Bhadrak Sub-collector in the presence of the concerned Returning Officer.

“I am overwhelmed by the love and support by the people of Bhandaripokhari during the filing of my nomination today. I promise them that I will put in my best efforts for their welfare & betterment. Let’s work together to build a better future,” he said.

Patnaik will be contesting from two Assembly seats as he had earlier filed nomination from Ghasipura constituency on April 2.

The Bhandaripokhari constituency is all set to witness a three-corner contest as the BJD and BJP have fielded sitting Ghasipura MLA & Minister Prafulla Samal and Badri Narayan Dhal, respectively.

Samal had emerged victorious twice in the Ghasipura constituency during the last two assembly polls in the state in 2009 and 2014. Notably, the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be held simultaneously in Odisha in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

The Bhandaripokhari assembly constituency will go to polls in the fourth phase on April 29. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Also Read

Comments are closed.