Odisha polls: Sipra Mallick not to contest from Kendrapara Assly seat

Bhubaneswar: A day after filing nomination for contesting the Odisha Assembly polls from Kendrapara constituency, former MLA and BJD leader Sipra Mallick today announced to withdraw her candidature.

She took a decision in this regard after holding discussions with BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik at his residence here.

“Though I was earlier wishing to contest as an Independent candidate with the support of the people of the area, I will now withdraw my nomination respecting and abiding by the decision of our party president Naveen Patnaik,” she said.

Mallick will extend her support to Finance Minister and BJD leader Shashi Bhusan Behera, whom the party has fielded from the Assembly seat.

The BJD will definitely emerge victorious in the constituency, Mallick asserted.

After being denied BJD ticket, Mallick, who successfully contested the 2009 Assembly polls in Odisha from the very constituency, had yesterday filed nomination papers as an Independent candidate.

Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be held in Odisha in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The Kendrapara Assembly constituency will go to polls in the fourth phase on April 29. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Also Read

Comments are closed.