Odisha registers zero offence related to noise pollution in 2020

Bhubaneswar: Odisha is among 15 states and eight Union Territories (UTs) in the country that registered zero offence under Noise Pollution Acts (central/states) in the year 2020, says the latest report released by National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB).

The 14 other states that recorded zero offence related to noise pollution are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Goa, Delhi, Jharkhand, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura and Uttarakhand. And, the UTs are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

As per the NCRB report, noise pollution related offences was on the second spot among various categories of environment-related offences registered in 2020 at all India level. Of the total 61,767 environment-related offences registered last year, 7,318 were related to noise pollution. Cigarettes and tobacco related cases remained on top in the categories.

Also Read: Exposure to noise linked to infertility

Of the total 7,318 offences registered under Noise Pollution Acts last year, 7,186 belonged to Rajasthan alone. The remaining offences were reported from Madhya Pradesh (44)  Tamil Nadu (19), Haryana (15), Punjab (15), Kerala (11), Himachal Pradesh (7), Karnataka (6), Uttar Pradesh (6), Chhattisgarh (2), Gujarat (2), Maharashtra (2), West Bengal (2) and Bihar (1).

On the other hand, last year’s report of Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) had shown that Chennai was the noisiest city among the six metros in the country.


(Note: This story is a part of ‘Punascha Pruthibi – One Earth. Unite for It’, an awareness campaign by Sambad Digital.)

Also Read

Comments are closed.