Odisha’s first sports science conclave held; SSI Sports Awards given away

Bhubaneswar: Sports Science India (SSI), a multidisciplinary sports medicine and rehabilitation centre, organised Odisha’s first sports science conclave at Kalinga Stadium in the capital city here today.

The event titled ‘SSI Sports Science Conclave Odisha, 2023–Exploring the science in sports’ brought together the best of two worlds–Sports and Medicine (Science)—under the same roof.

Brigadier IS Panjrath (Sena Medal), Commandant, Army AD Centre at Gopalpur, graced the occasion as chief guest.

The day-long conclave featured sessions on injury prevention, sports science, rehabilitation and recovery.

Several sports science experts and doctors from across the country participated in the conclave. The speakers delivered on topics ranging from role of biomechanics for peak athletic performance, heart rate and its better application for sports performance, and strength and conditioning.

A panel discussion was held on sports science in India and the road ahead, where panelists comprising football legend Padmashri Brahmanand Sankhwalkar, founder of Ardor football academy JD Mohapatra, former Cricketer Rajiv Seth and sports communicator and journalist G Rajaram expressed their views on various aspects of sports science and its usefulness for athletes.

“The aim of this conclave was to generate awareness on sports science. Performance backed by science is the need of the hour. Our athletes must know how to reduce chances of injury, which can cut short their career. We are trying our best to make sportspersons and other sports related professionals aware of the advanced technologies and methodologies adapted in the western countries to boost performances on the field,” said SSI Founder Dr Sarthak Patnaik.

SSI Sports Awards ceremony was also held on the sidelines of the conclave. Several sports personalities and teams were felicitated on the occasion. The list includes:

Karna Award for Best Sports Person–Srabani Nanda

Paika Team Award–Odisha Women football team

SSI Emerging player Award–Swasti Singh

Dilip Tirkey Grassroot Award–JD Mohapatra, Ardor Football Academy, Bhubaneswar

SSI Coach Award–Ram Bahadur subba, Sikkim

SSI Lifetime Award–Dilip Tirkey and Brahmanand Sanwalkar, Goal keeper, Ex – Captain, Arjuna Awardee, GOA

Milkha Singh Sprint Champion Award (Male)–Manikanta Hoblidhar, 100 metre National Champion

SSI Sprint Champion Award (Female)–Srabani Nanda, 100 / 200 metre National Champion

SSI Sports Journalism Award – Sanatan Pani

SSI Sports Development Award – OMC

Speaking about SSI Sports Awards, Dr Sarthak Patnaik said, “Very few awards have been instituted in our country for coaches or to recognize the efforts of grassroot level sports promotion. But, we have instituted two unique award categories for coaches and grassroot sports. Besides, the Karna award is very special as it is a tribute to the valour and vigour of Karna, the son of Surya, an accomplished warrior of extraordinary abilities in Mahabharata.”

Also Read

Comments are closed.