Odisha’s Pramod Bhagat to receive ‘Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ for 2021

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: Tokyo Paralympics gold medallist Pramod Bhagat and 11 other sportspersons will receive the ‘Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ this year. Bhagat, who hails from Odisha, will be honoured with the ‘Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ his outstanding performance in Para Badminton discipline.

The ‘Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of previous four years.

President Ram Nath Kovind will give away the National Sports Awards for 2021 at a special function at the Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan on November 13, 2021(Saturday) at 4:30 PM.

Amit Rohidas and Birendra Lakra from Odisha have been selected to receive the Arjuna Award for their performance in hockey discipline. Both the defenders played a key role in the Indian Hockey team leading to its win against Germany to bag bronze medal in Tokyo Olympics 2020.

A total of 35 sportspersons will be honoured with the ‘Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games’ for their good performance over a period of previous four years and showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

While announcing the National Sports Awards 2021 today, the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports stated the ‘Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games’ is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.

Tapan Kumar Panigrahi from Odisha will receive the Dronacharya Award in swimming discipline. A total of five coaches will get the Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games 2021.

The ‘Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games’ is given to honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to promotion of sports event after their retirement.

Also read: Golden Boy Pramod Bhagat Felicitated By Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik On Homecoming

‘Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ is given to corporate entities (both in private and public sector), sports control boards, NGOs including sports bodies at the State and National level who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

Also Read

Comments are closed.