Pact to provide high-speed internet service to rural areas of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: A tripartite agreement was today signed among the OPTCL, BSNL and OCAC for extending broadband facility in BharatNet Phase-II area on revenue sharing basis with the BSNL.

Tusharkanti Behera, Minister of State, Electronics & IT, Sports & youth services and Home, was present on the occasion.

“The BharatNet Phase II Odisha project will ensure high speed and reliable internet facility not only to the block headquarters but also to thousands of gram panchayats of the remote parts of Odisha. The people living in these areas will be benefitted by easily accessing various e-governance initiatives and online government services,” Behera said.

Odisha has become a digitally-empowered society and effectively integrated into the knowledge economy with implementation of 5T principles of the state government, he added.

“Most of the services are now technology driven that has resulted in faster, easier, reliable and cost effective delivery of government services at the doorsteps of the beneficiary. In order to ensure universal access of digital services in both urban and rural areas, the Odisha government has shown exemplary commitment in implementing Digital India initiatives,” said the minister.

The minister also congratulated the teams of OPTCL and OCAC for their dedication in completing the project. He expressed optimism that BSNL would leverage the Phase-II network in releasing rural broad band connections.

BharatNet Phase II entails a total investment of Rs 545 crore with laying of 20,000km of overhead optical fibre cable connecting 2,932 gram panchayats in remote parts of Odisha and 133 block headquarters. This will ensure high speed internet to all gram panchayats, which in turn is expected to ensure delivery of key online services linked to administration, education, health, banking and agriculture with greater efficiency and transparency.

Manoj Kumar Mishra, Principal Secretary, E &IT Department, RN Pallai, CGM, BSNL, Manas Ranjan Panda, Special Secretary, Manoj Pattanaik, CEO, OCAC, Madhumita Rath, GM OCAC and Prabodh   Kumar Rout, Administative officer, OCAC were present on the occasion.

Also Read

Comments are closed.