Pitroda appointed Chairman of Overseas Congress Department of AICC

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jun 1:

All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Sonia Gandhi today appointed Sam Pitroda as the Chairman of newly-appointed Overseas Congress Department.

Pic Courtesy: http://indiatoday.intoday.in

Pitroda, who was appointed as Technical Advisor to the Odisha government, has been assigned the new task with immediate effect, party sources said.

“The Congress President has approved the creation of new Department to be known as Overseas Congress Department of AICC. Sam Pitroda has been appointed the Chairman of the Oversees Congress Department with immediate effect,” AICC General Secretary Janardan Dwivedy said in a press release.

This apart, Sonia Gandhi also approved renaming of AICC’s ST Department as Adivasi Congress Department, constituting a Research Department; Fishermen Department.

V. Kishore Chandra Deo has been appointed Chairman of the Adivasi Congress. Mahendrajeet Singh Malviya, Shyam Sunder Hansdah, Bellaih Naik, Manoj Mandavi and Atuwa Munda have been appointed Vice Chairmen of the department.

Gandhi has also approved the suggestion to constitute a new department with the name “Research Department” in place of the Research and Coordination Department, Research and Reference Department and the Department of Policy, Planning and Coordination (DEPCO), which were constituted earlier.

MP Rajeev Gowda has been appointed Chairman of the Research Department and T.N. Prathapan is the Chairman of the Fishermen Department. (With IANS inputs)

Also Read

Comments are closed.