Power disconnection drive by SOUTHCO begins in Odisha

Berhampur: SOUTHCO utility today commenced its power disconnection drive in eight districts of Odisha against defaulting consumers.

It had set a deadline of February 15 for the disconnection drive in Ganjam, Gajapati, Kandhamal, Boudh, Rayagada, Koraput, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur districts, where the utility has around 22 lakh consumers. Those having arrears of more than Rs 1,000 were urged to clear the dues by February 15.

While 15.73 lakh consumers have arrears of Rs 1,357 crore, domestic users constitute 79 per cent of the total pending bills, sources said. Notably, CESU had on January 16 started a similar power disconnection drive in a phased manner in nine districts of the state.

Also Read

Comments are closed.