President presents gallantry awards

New Delhi, March 21:

President Pranab Mukherjee on Saturday presented gallantry awards and distinguished service decorations to 55 servicemen, including one Kirti Chakra and 11 Shaurya Chakras.

Pranab Mukherjee, President of India
Pranab Mukherjee, President of India

The Kirti Chakra, the second highest peace time decoration, was given to Captain Jaidev of the Rashtriya Rifles, for taking on terrorists despite being grievously injured in an operation in Pulwama district of Jammu and Kashmir.

A total of 11 Shaurya Chakras were given, including that for Lt. Commander Manoranjan Kumar who died in the INS Sindhuratna accident in Mumbai.

Others who got the Shaurya Chakra posthumously included Subedar Prakash Chand, who died during an anti-infiltration operation in Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir, and Major Abhijai, an aviator with Corps of Engineers who died while manoeuvering a crippled aircraft away from an inhabited area.

The Shaurya Chakra is the third highest peace time decoration.

The president also gave 14 Param Vishisht Seva Medals and 13 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals for distinguished service, and three Uttam Yudh Seva Medals for service of exceptional order during war or conflict. IANS

Also Read

Comments are closed.