Presidential poll: Meira Kumar files nomination

New Delhi: Opposition candidate Meira Kumar on Wednesday filed her nomination for the July 17 Presidential election.

Opposition leaders, including from the Congress and Left, along with Meira Kumar assembled at Parliament’s Gate Number 1 and later left for the Lok Sabha Secretary General’s chamber to file the nomination.

Among the leaders present were former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, BSP leader Satish Chandra Mishra, CPI-M General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, CPI leader D. Raja and TMC leader Derek O’Brien.

RJD Chief Lalu Yadav was not present.

Before reaching the Parliament Meira Kumar visited Raj Ghat and Samta Sthal, memorial of Mahatma Gandhi and her father Babu Jagjivan Ram respectively.

Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Puducherry Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy and Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah were also present.

Meira Kumar is pitted against NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.