Process begins for Odisha Speaker appointment

Bhubaneswar: After formation of new government in Odisha, the process began today for appointment of Speaker of 16th State Legislative Assembly.

A notice in this regard has been sent to the Assembly secretary today. The Speaker will be elected by the members at 11.00 am at the House tomorrow.

“On proposal from Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, we have given a notice in favour of Digapahandi MLA Surjya Narayan Patro for the post of Odisha Assembly Speaker,” informed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh here today.

The former minister Patro is expected to be elected uncontested as the Speaker of Odisha Assembly, he added.

Currently, MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy is the pro tem speaker of Odisha Assembly till final appointment of Speaker. He administered the oath to 146 elected legislators including CM Patnaik in the House for two days.

Also Read

Comments are closed.