Prof Ganapati Panda to receive Biju Patnaik award

OST Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jan 28:

In recognition of their great contributions in the field of science and technology, the state government on Monday announced the names of 13 scientists working in and outside Odisha for various categories of awards and honours for the year 2012.

Prof Ganapati Panda
Prof Ganapati Panda

As per the announcement, former dean and director of IIT, Bhubaneswar Prof Dr Ganapati Panda would be honoured with the Biju Patnaik Award for Scientific Excellence for his significant research in engineering and technology.

Prof Sushil Kumar Dutta (Life Science) of Indian Institute of Science (IIS), Bangalore, Dr Birendra Kumar Mohapatra (Physical Science), chief scientist CISR-IMMT, Bhubaneswar, Prof Sanghamitra Mohanty, Vice Chancellor of North Odisha University and Dr Ajit Kumar Sasani senior scientist, CISR would receive the Samanta Chandrasekhar Award .

The Young Scientist Award will go to Banikalyan Swain, senior Research Fellow, CIFA (Life Science), Dr Diptiprakasani Das, junior scientist, CSIR-IMMT (Physical Science) and Dr Punyapriya Mishra (Mechanical Engineering) of VSS Engineering College, the announcement said.

Apart from this, deputy director, state Health and Family Welfare Purabi Mohanty (general category) and retired headmistress Dr Jyotirmayee Mohanty would be felicitated with Pranakrushna Parija Janapriya Bigyan Puraskar.

Besides, former Vice Chancellor of Utkal University Prof Sanatan Acharya, retired Professor Bhabendra Kumar Patnaik and kretired engineer-in-chief Gobindra Chandra Sahu would also be felicitated at the function.

The awardees would be felicitated at a special function of the Odisha Bigyan Akademi the date for which would be announced shortly, sources said.

Also Read

Comments are closed.