Second Test: Umesh Yadav gives India edge

Brisbane, Dec 18:

Debutant Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood’s five-for might have grabbed all the headlines but Indian quickie Umesh Yadav picked up three wickets to restrict Australia to 221 runs for four, in reply to India’s first innings score of 408 at stumps on the second day of the second Test here today.


An unbeaten 64 from captain Steven Smith meant Australia are still 187 runs behind.

Things could have been a lot different for the hosts had the top-order batsmen not thrown their wickets away after making good starts.

After being 121 for three at tea, the final session belonged completely to Australia.

Smith along with Shaun Marsh (32) put on 87 runs for the fourth wicket as the hosts reduced at the deficit.

However, the timely wicket of Shaun, following a brilliant catch by Ravichandran Ashwin at slips, gave India the initiative again.

Bad light put an end to the day’s play with Smith and Mitchell Marsh (batting 7) at the crease.

Yadav was the pick of the Indian bowlers and got good support from offie Ashwin, who picked up a wicket too.

Varun Aaron bowled fast but without much luck. The pacer found the top edge of Shaun Marsh’s bat but Ajinkya Rahane grassed the chance.

Luckily for India the left-hander fell in the very next over to Yadav.

Earlier, a five-wicket haul by Hazlewood helped Australia bowl out India for 408 at the stroke of lunch.

India, who were in the driving seat at stumps on day one, managed to add only 97 runs to their overnight score of 311 for four.


Murali Vijay c Haddin b Lyon 144
Shikhar Dhawan c Haddin b M Marsh 24
Cheteswar Pujara c Haddin b Hazlewood 18
Virat Kohli c Haddin b Hazlewood 19
Ajinkya Rahane c Haddin b Hazlewood 81
Rohit Sharma c Smith b Watson 32
MS Dhoni c Haddin b HazlewoodA 33
Ravichandran Ashwin c Watson b Hazlewood 35
Umesh Yadav c Rogers b Lyon 9
Varun Aaron c sub b Lyon 4
Ishant Sharma not out 1

Extras (b4, nb 1,w 2,lb 1) 8

Total (all out in 109.4 overs) 408

Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Dhawan, 13.4 overs), 2-100 (Pujara, 33.3), 3-137 (Kohli, 44.2), 4-261 (Vijay, 71.5), 5-321 (Rahane, 85.4), 6-328 (R.Sharma, 91.2), 7-385 (Ashwin,102.3), 8-394 (Dhoni,104.2), 9-407 (Aaron,107.6), 10-408 (Yadav,109.4)

Mitchell Johnson 21-4-81-0
Josh Hazlewood 23.2-6-68-5
Mitchell Starc 17-1-83-0
Mitchell Marsh 6-1-14-1
Nathan Lyon 25.4-2-105-3
Shane Watson 14.4-6-39-1
David Warner 1-0-9-0
Steven Smith 1-0-4-0

Chris Rogers c Dhoni b Yadav 55
David Warner c Ashwin b Yadav 29
Shane Watson c Dhawan b Ashwin 25
Steven Smith batting 65
Shaun Marsh c Ashwin b Yadav 32
Mitchell Marsh batting 7
Extras (lb 1, w 3, nb 4) 8
Total (for four wickets in 52 overs) 221

Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Warner,8.3 overs), 2-98 (Watson,19.4), 3-121 (Rogers,24.5), (S Marsh, 46.5)

Ishant Sharma 9-0-47-0
Varun Aaron 12-1-59-0
Umesh Yadav 13-2-48-3
Ravichandran Ashwin 18-3-66-1


Also Read

Comments are closed.