Selection panel recommends two names for Lokayukta members

Bhubaneswar:  The Lokayukta selection committee, headed by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, today zeroed on two members and recommended their names to the Governor for approval.

The committee has unanimously finalized names of two members – one judicial and another non-judicial – out of five, informed panel member Narasingh Mishra soon after attending the meeting held at State Guest House this evening.

Worth mentioning here that former Chief Justice of Guwahati High Court Ajit Singh was appointed as the first Lokayukta of Odisha.

The office of the anti-corruption watchdog will start functioning from April 8.

Also Read: Ex-Guwahati HC Chief Justice Ajit Singh appointed as first Lokayukta of Odisha

A seven-member search committee — formed in December 2018 under the chairmanship of justice Amitava Roy – had suggested five names for the post of the Lokayukta chairperson and three names each for the five members in its report to the Chief Minister-led panel on January 9.

The committee had former Odisha DGP Gopal Nanda, ex-IAS officer Sanjiv Hota, former IAS officer Dr RN Bohidar, Dr Bidhu Bhusan Samal, Prof Snigdha Patnaik of XIMB and Vice Chancellor of National Law University, Bangalore, Dr Venkata Rao Rambhatla as its members.

Notably, Odisha was the first state to pass the Lokayukta Bill on February 14, 2014, after the Lokpal Bill was cleared by Parliament in December, 2013.

Also Read

Comments are closed.