Six Odisha Universities get new Vice Chancellors

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Governor and Chancellor of Universities, Professor Ganeshi Lal today appointed Vice Chancellors of six Universities of the State.

Prof. Aparajita Chowdhury and Prof. Sabita Acharya were appointed as Vice Chancellor of Rama Devi Women’s University and Utkal University respectively.

The Governor appointed Prof. Dinabandhu Sahoo and Prof. N Nagaraju as Vice Chancellor of Fakir Mohan University and Gangadhar Meher University respectively.

Prof. Kishore Kumar Basa and Prof. Prafulla Kumar Mohanty were appointed as Vice Chancellor of  North Odisha University and Khallikote University, respectively.

In exercise of the powers conferred by Sub Section (1) read with Sub-Section (7) of Section 6 of Odisha Universities (Amendment) Act, 2020. Lal appointed the Vice Chancellors for a period of four years with effect from the date they assume office as such or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Prof. Aparajita Chowdhury was former Director, College of Development Council and Professor of Home Science, Berhampur University having more than 37 years of teaching experience. Prof. Sabita Acharya, formerly Chairman, Post Graduate Council and Professor of Anthropology, Utkal University is having more than 31 years of teaching experience.

With more than 26 years of teaching experience Prof. Dinabandhu Sahoo is presently serving as Professor, University of Delhi. Prof. N. Nagaraju is presently working as Professor in English, Central University of Karnataka with 34 years of teaching experience.

Prof. Kishore Kumar Basa is having 38 years of teaching experience and he was Professor (Retd.) Tagore National Fellow, University of Culture, Government of India. Prof. Prafulla Kumar Mohanty, the former Professor of Zoology, Utkal University is having 35 years teaching experience.

The new Vice Chancellors get at least seven days to join their new assignment as the tenure of the present Vice Chancellors comes to an end this month.

Also Read

Comments are closed.