‘Son rise’ in Odisha politics

Bhubaneswar: As dynasty politics continues to prevail across the nation, the phenomenon also reigns its supremacy in Odisha as well, especially after the declaration of Lok Sabha and Assembly poll results. Sons of over a dozen prominent political leaders of the state have successfully assumed the mantle from their fathers and excelled also.


Biju Patnaik-Naveen Patnaik

This father-son duo needs no introduction. Biju Babu, arguably Odisha’s best statesman of all time, served as the Chief Minister of the state twice, besides being elected to the Lok Sabha and Legislative Assembly several times. Carrying forward his father’s political legacy, Naveen led the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in registering five consecutive thumping victories in Assembly elections between 2000 and 2019.

Already the longest serving Chief Minister of Odisha, Naveen is all set to rule the state for a record fifth consecutive term.


Damodar Rout-Sambit Routray

Veteran politician Damodar Rout’s expulsion from the BJD followed by his son Sambit Routray’s candidacy from the conch party for Padaip assembly seat had unfolded a series of drama in the recent past. While Dama lost the Balikuda-Erasama assembly seat contesting as a BJP candidate this time, his son won from the Paradip seat. Interestingly, Dama had successfully contested as a BJD candidate from the Paradip seat in 2009 and 2014 elections.


Bijayshree Routray-Bishnubrata Routray

Basudevpur assembly seat continues to witness the rise of Routray family as Bijayshree Routray’s son Bishnubrata secured win from the constituency as a BJD candidate. Bijayshree was himself elected to the Assembly from the seat six times in 1990, 1995, 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2014.


Pravat Tripathy-Debi Ranjan Tripathy

Three-time Banki MLA Pravat Tripathy decided not to contest the polls this time and later his son Debi Ranjan was given a BJD ticket for the very assembly seat. Living up to the expectations, junior Tripathy secured victory and is now all set to take oath as the new Banki MLA.


Rama Chandra Ulaka-Saptagiri Ulaka

Though the performance of the Congress was dismal both in Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in Odisha, late Rama Chandra Ulaka’s son Saptagiri managed to clinch the lone victory for the grand old party from the Koraput parliamentary constituency. Rama Chandra Ulaka was himself a two-time MP from Koraput and seven-time MLA from Rayagada.


Parsuram Panigrahi-Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi

Four-time Simulia MLA Parsuram Panigrahi’s son Jyoti Prakash won from the assembly seat for the second consecutive time as he was also elected to the Assembly from the very constituency in 2014 elections.


Harekrushna Mahatab-Bhartruhari Mahtab

Bhartruhari Mahtab, son of first Chief Minister of Odisha Harekrushna Mahatab, has made the Cuttack parliamentary constituency an unbreachable fort for the BJD since 1998. Junior Mahatab has been elected to the Lok Sabha from the seat six consecutive times in 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009, 2014 and in the recently-concluded polls this year.


Pravat Biswal-Souvic Biswal

Two-time Cuttack-Choudwar MLA Pravat Biswal’s son Souvic Biswal rose to the occasion after being named BJD’s candidate for the assembly seat and sealed a victory for him and the party. Senior Biswal had won from the seat in 2009 and 2014.


Kalpataru Das-Pranab Balabantaray

Late BJD leader Kalpataru Das’ son Pranab Balabantaray won from the Dharmasala assembly seat for the second consecutive time and carried forward his father’s legacy in the constituency. Das was elected to the Assembly from the seat four times between 1995 and 2009.


Prafulla Ghadai-Pritiranjan Ghadai

Veteran politician Prafulla Ghadai is no longer in the BJD, but his son Pritiranjan continues to strengthen the party’s stronghold in Sukinda assembly constituency. Pritiranjan won from the seat for the second consecutive time while his father had secured victory from the constituency five consecutive times between 1990 and 2009.


Ashok Das-Pranab Prakash Das

Six-time Korei MLA Ashok Das’ son Pranab Prakash Das continues his winning streak from Jajpur assembly seat. Besides being elected to the Assembly from the constituency this time, he had earlier won from the seat in 2009 and 2014.


Pradipta Ganga Deb-Nitesh Ganga Deb

After being elected as Deogarh MLA twice in 2004 and 2014, Nitesh Ganga Deb contested the Lok Sabha polls this time from Sambalpur parliamentary constituency as a BJP candidate and won against BJD’s Nalinikanta Pradhan and Sarat Patnaik of Congress. His father Pradipta Ganga Deb was a two-time Deogarh MLA.


Sarat Deb-Pratap Deb

BJD Rajya Sabha MP Pratap Deb made a comeback in the Aul assembly seat this time after being defeated in 2014. Son of four-time Aul MLA Sarat Kumar Deb, Pratap had earlier won the constituency thrice in 2000, 2004 and 2009.


Kalindi Charan Behera-Chandra Sarathi Behera

Chandra Sarathi Behera, son of late BJD leader and former Odisha minister Kalindi Charan Behera, secured a back-to-back win from Cuttack Sadar assembly seat (2014 and 2019). He had earlier won from the Salepur seat in 2009.

Also Read

Comments are closed.