State Pollution Control Board to open 2 more regional offices in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:  Two more regional offices of the State Pollution Control Board (SPCB) will be opened in the state–in  Balangir and Koraput districts, informed Forest and Environment Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh yesterday.

With this, the pollution board’s  will have total 14 regional offices in the state.

Official sources said the regional office to be inaugurated in Balanagir will cover Subarnapur, Boudh and Nuapada districts while the one in Koraput will have Koraput, Nabarangpur and Malkangiri under its jurisdiction. The board will bear the expense for establishment of  the two offices and other related works, the Minister added.

The board had also proposed two more regional offices in Gajapati and Kandhamal districts. However, the proposal was rejected due to distance issue and it has been decided that Gajapati and Kandhamal districts will remain under Rayagada and Berhampur regional offices, respectively.

Earlier, the the Government had approved opening of regional offices in Paradip, Kalinganagar (Jajpur) and Jharsuguda. Currently, the board has nine regional offices functioning in the state-Rourkela, Cuttack, Sambalpur, Angul, Balasore, Berhampur, Bhubaneswar, Keonjhar and Rayagada .




Also Read

Comments are closed.