Surjya Patro elected as Odisha Assembly Speaker

Bhubaneswar: The legislator from Digapahandi Assembly Constituency Surjya Narayan Patro was elected as the Speaker of 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly here today.

The former MLA was elected uncontested as the Speaker in the House. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik tabled the proposal, which was supported by the Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh and other members of the Assembly. Later, the Pro tem Speaker Amar Prasad Satpathy invited Patro to take the charge as the Speaker.

“I congratulate Shri Surjya Narayan Patro for being elected as the Speaker of this August House,” Patnaik told the media after Patro assumed the charge.

With the appointment, he will preside over the Assembly sessions in the House.

Yesterday, the new government led by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had recommended Patro’s name for the post. As the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has the majority in the House, the senior leader was elected uncontested.

Also Read

Comments are closed.