Suryabanshi Suraj takes oath as Dhamnagar MLA

Bhubaneswar: Newly-elected legislator Suryabanshi Suraj today took oath as the MLA of Dhamnagar Assembly Constituency.

Assembly Speaker Bikram Keshari Arukha administered the BJP MLA the oath of office in the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Suryabanshi took blessings of Arukha by touching the latter’s feet.

Jayanarayan Mishra, Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, and several senior BJP leaders were present on the occasion.

Earlier in the day, Suryabanshi went to the BJP State Headquarters in the city, where he was felicitated by party’s State President Samir Mohanty and other leaders.

Suryabanshi had defeated BJD’s Abanti Das by a margin of 9,881 votes in the recently-concluded Dhamnagar bypoll.

While Suryabanshi received a total of 80,351 votes, Abanti Das got 70,470 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated after the demise of MLA and BJP leader Bishnu Charan Sethi. The saffron party had fielded his son Suryabanshi Suraj as its candidate for the election.

Also Read

Comments are closed.