Sushil Chandra appointed new EC

New Delhi: CBDT Chairman Sushil Chandra was on Thursday appointed the new Election Commissioner ahead of the Lok Sabha polls, making the poll panel a three-member entity again.

The other two members of the Commission are Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner (EC) Ashok Lavasa.

Chandra, 61, an IRS-IT officer of the 1980 batch, will fill the vacancy caused by the retirement of O.P. Rawat, who demitted office as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) late last year.

Chandra is the second Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer to be appointed to the Commission after T.S. Krishnamurthy, who went on to become the CEC in 2004.

“In pursuance of clause (2) of Article 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Sushil Chandra, former IRS (IT)-1980 officer as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office,” said a government order issued on Thursday.

Chandra’s tenure as chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) was to expire in May this year. He has already got two extensions since 2016.

Chandra, a B. Tech from IIT Roorkee and who also holds a law degree, joined the Revenue Service in 1980 and was posted in various places in Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Delhi and Mumbai. He has worked in the areas of International Taxation and Investigation in different places.

Chandra was Commissioner of Income Tax (Appeals) International Taxation in Delhi. He was Director of Investigation, Mumbai and DIrector General Investigation, Gujarat. He had undergone training in Singapore, IIM Bengaluru and Wharton.


Also Read

Comments are closed.