Tata Steel to organise ‘Bhubaneswar Run-a-thon-2015’ on Feb 15

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 4:

Steel major Tata Steel today announced the launch of its annual run-a-thon in Odisha titled “Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Run-a-thon” which will be held for the first time at the state capital on February 15.

Tata SteelThe participants are required to run 10 km which is the internationally approved distance for road races by International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

For the run-a-thon, Tata Steel and its Sports department will get internationally recognised technology and tracking mechanisms for the first time in Odisha which would enable the runners to have a professional sporting experience.

Arun Misra, vice president, Gopalpur Project, Tata Steel unveiled the logo and website of Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Run-a-thon and formally launched it.

Briefing newsmen on the details of the Run-a-thon scheduled, Farzan Heerjee, chief, Guest Relations and Sports, Tata Steel, informed that apart from the 10 km run which is open to all, there will be a 7-km run for corporates and institutions, a 5-km run for school children and a 3 km race for differently-abled persons.

The reporting time for all races will be 5.30 AM. The run, starting from Kalinga stadium will go up to Tanishq showroom at Chandrasekharpur, take a u-turn from there and end at the Kalinga stadium. The runners will be given smart RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) chips to track the participants’ performance and location.

There will be awards in 5 different categories with the highest prize money of Rs 51,000 going to the winner of the 10-km run. There will be separate registration fee for corporates and institutes and individual participants.

Registrations can be done online at www.tatasteelbhubaneswarrun.com or at the registration counters at Kalinga stadium from 10 AM to 5 PM, starting from February 5.

The last date for registrations is February 11, 2015. The goodies bag, containing a t-shirt, an information leaflet, a bib number unique to each participant and RFID chip, can be collected from February 12 onwards from the designated counter at Kalinga Stadium.

Also Read

Comments are closed.