Ten BMC corporators quit Congress in Odisha

Berhampur: In ongoing rift within Congress, ten corporators of Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BMC) quit the party here today following resignation of former Union Minister Chandrasekhar Sahu.

Out of 11 from Congress, 10 corporators tendered their resignation to the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president Prasad Harichandan.

The mass resignation was sent to the PCC chief just a day after Congress President Rahul Gandhi appointed former Union Minister Jitendra Singh as the new AICC-incharge of Odisha replacing BK Hariprasad yesterday.

Earlier, senior Congress leader Chandrasekhar Sahu along with Ganjam district president of the party Bhagaban Gantayat and AICC member Bikram Panda had tendered his resignation to Gandhi on March 29 citing ‘no future’ for them in the party. The three are likely to join the BJD very soon.

For 36 years, Sambad Group has been redefining Odia journalism and bringing you the news from all corners of the state and beyond. During this pandemic, support Sambad and Kanak News by making a contribution today for our various digital platforms. Help regional journalism survive during these challenging times.

Also Read

Comments are closed.