Three more cyber police stations in Odisha in offing

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 27:

While incidents of online fraud and cyber crime are soaring, Odisha government has decided to set up three more cyber police stations across the state.

A decision in this regard was taken after being approved by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who is in-charge of Home department.

The three proposed stations would come up at Rourkela, Sambalpur and Berhampur for which 33 new posts would be created.

As many as six Inspectors, 12 Sub Inspectors, six Assistant Sub Inspectors and nine constables would be given appointments.

Two Inspectors, four Sub Inspectors, two A Assistant Sub Inspectors and three constables would be posted at each Cyber Police station. The recruits would undergo advanced training to deal with cases of cyber crime, their investigation and control, a release said.

Besides, it was decided to strengthen the only cyber police station under CID, Crime Branch in Cuttack.

Notably, several police districts will be under each cyber police station. While the coastal districts will be under the jurisdiction of cyber police station in Cuttack, the southern region would be under Berhampur cyber police station. Further, central and western regions would come under Sambalpur and Rourkela cyber police stations respectively.

Soon after the announcement, Rourkela MLA Dilip Ray welcomed the decision of the state government to open one of the cyber police stations in Steel City.

Also Read

Comments are closed.