Three more cyber police stations to come up in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Police has decided to set up three more cyber police stations in the state in order to arrest the rise in number of cyber crimes with each passing day.

The new cyber police stations would be come up in Bhubaneswar, Balasore and Jeypore (of Koraput district), DGP RP Sharma told reporters while addressing a three-day training programme of the cyber investigating officers here.

At present there are four cyber police stations in the state at Cuttack, Rourkela, Berhampur and Sambalpur.

The DGP also said that his department is planning to set up a cybercrime laboratory for helping officers to undertake investigation using technology.

The number of investigating officers will also be increased, Sharma added.

Official sources said while 120 cyber cases were registered in the state in 2013, the number increased to 868 in 2018.

Also Read

Comments are closed.