Three Odisha dists awarded for sterilisation operation during 2014-15 

Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Jul 11:

Odisha’s Gajapati, Mayurbhanj and Bolangir districts were today awarded as the best three districts in sterilisation operation during 2014-15. The awards were given away during a state-level ceremony for observance of World Population Day here today.

Image 5- World Population Day-2015

State Health & Family Welfare and I & PR Minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak graced the occasion as chief guest.

Minister Nayak felicitated and awarded Gajapati, Mayurbhanj and Bolangir as the best three districts for family planning performance on sterilisation operation in 2014-15 where Koraput, Rayagada and Keonjhar were also awarded for best performance in conducting Vasectomy operation during the same period.

Besides, Nayagarh and Jharsuguda were awarded for best performance in IUCD and Jharsuguda and Angul districts were felicitated for best performance in PPIUCD insertions. Surgeons, female health workers, ASHA workers from 10 districts of top priority were also felicitated and awarded on the occasion for their inspiring performance in the sector in 2014.

This year, World Population Day is being observed with launching of “Population Stabilization Fortnight” from today till 24 of this month across the state. It was preceded by a “Mobilization Fortnight” which ended yesterday for creating awareness on population control and generating demand for family planning services.

The population stabilisation campaign in Odisha started in 2010 with an attempt to bring all stakeholders on one platform in order to consolidate the efforts for fighting the menace of population explosion. At present, world population has crossed-over 7 billion and that of India stands at 1.22 billion which is a matter of serious concern to all of us in view of the rapid depletion of natural resources and the food crisis staring at us. Odisha is also witnessing a population growth of around half a crore (51 lakhs) every 10 years (Census-1991, 2001 and 2011) which is also affecting the state’s progress adversely.

Among others Principal Secretary, Health & FW Department Arti Ahuja, IAS, Mission Director, National Health Mission, Odisha Roopa Mishra, Director of Family Welfare Dr Nirmala Dei were also attended the ceremony.

Also Read

Comments are closed.