Twitter launches special election emoji in Odia language

New Delhi: Twitter India launched a special Lok Sabha poll emoji in Odia language with an aim to encourage healthy participation in election-related discussions and encouraging more people to go out and vote.

The emoji, featuring an image of the Parliament of India, will be available in 12 languages – Hindi, English, Bengali/Assamese, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. It will be accessible to Twitterati till May 31, 2019, says Twitter.

To use the emoji, one needs to use the following hashtags:  #LokSabhaElections2019, #IndiaDecides2019, #IndiaElections2019,  #लोकसभाचुनाव2019, #লোকসভানিৰ্বাচন, #લોકસભાચૂંટણી, #ಲೋಕಸಭೆಚುನಾವಣೆ, #ലോക്സഭാതെരെഞ്ഞെടുപ്പ്, #लोकसभानिवडणूक, #ଲୋକସଭାନିର୍ବାଚନ, #ਲੋਕਸਭਾਚੋਣਾਂ, #நாடாளுமன்றதேர்தல்,#లోక్‌సభఎన్నికలు, and لوک_سبھا_انتخابات#

Besides, the Election Commission of India on Friday joined the micro-blogging site.

To further raise awareness among voters, the Election Commission of India has launched the “Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation” programme (SVEEP) on the platform.

“Twitter India welcomes the Election Commission of India’s SVEEP (Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation Program) (@ECISVEEP) onboard the platform,” the company said in a statement.

“India is the world’s largest democracy, and the upcoming election is a key priority for us at Twitter. Over the past several months, we’ve taken significant steps to safeguard the integrity of conversations and enhance the health of our platform. We are honoured to onboard the Election Commission handle to encourage voter education,” Mahima Kaul, Director, Public Policy and Government at Twitter India said.

“Citizens will receive crucial information directly from the Election Commission on Twitter, in turn they can engage with and amplify accurate and positive information to their community.”

(With IANS Inputs)

Also Read

Comments are closed.