Two cricketers from Odisha picked for Women’s IPL 2022

Bhubaneswar: Two women cricketers from Odisha have been selected to play for the women’s Indian Premier League (IPL) team this year.

Official sources at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said Priyanka Priyadarshini and Sujata Mallik from Odisha have been picked to play for the IPL Trailblazers team.

For a full-fledged women’s IPL, three teams—IPL Supernovas, IPL Trailblazers and IPL Velocity—have been formed. A total of 14 overseas players will be playing for the three IPL teams.

Although a full-fledged women’s IPL is yet to be held, the BCCI had organized the women’s T20 challenge alongside the men’s IPL.

On May 22, 2018, a single match was played between IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai in which the former was the winner.

In 2019, IPL Velocity team was added to the competition.

Also Read

Comments are closed.