Two new judges of Orissa High Court sworn in

Cuttack: Advocate Sibo Sankar Mishra and Judicial Officer Ananda Chandra Behera were sworn in as new judges of the Orissa High Court.

Orissa High Court Chief Justice Subhasis Talapatra administered the oath of office to newly appointed judges at the Conference Hall of the court.

On September 2, the Centre issued a notification regarding the appointment of two new judges in Orissa High Court following recommendations by Chief Justice of India Justice DY Chandrachud-led Supreme Court collegium on August 17.

The Collegium had recommended the appointment of advocate Sibo Sankar Mishra and judicial officer Ananda Chandra Behera as the judges after the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court in consultation with his two senior colleagues recommended these two names on January 17.

The newly appointed Judge Sibo Sankar Mishra has a standing of 30 years at the Bar and specialises in civil, criminal and service law. He is an Advocate-on-record for the State of Odisha in the Supreme Court and is counsel for the Union of India and High Court of Orissa in the Supreme Court.

Similarly, Judge Ananda Chandra Behera has served in various capacities in Odisha.

With appointment of two new judges, the number of judges in Orissa High Court reached 22.

Also Read

Comments are closed.