Video recording of poll campaign, voting during Odisha LS bypoll

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Sept 30:

There will be video recording of all major rallies and meetings during the election campaign and sensitive booths during polling in the ensuing Lok Sabha by-election in Odisha’s Kandhamal district scheduled on October 15 as per the directive of the Election Commission, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Mona Sharma said on Monday.

Mona Sharma, CEO, Odisha
Mona Sharma, CEO, Odisha

Addressing the leaders of political parties at an all-party meeting here, Sharma said there would be no developmental work in any area under Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency from the day of enforcement of model code of conduct till the conclusion of the election process.

Besides, there would be no official tour of any minister, no use of government guest house and no government hoardings, she said, adding, the model code of conduct would be in force in Kandhamal, Boudh, Ganjam and Nayagarh districts as some constituencies in these three districts come under Kandhamal LS constituency.

Referring to the election meetings, the CEO said no party will have the monopoly in organizing party meetings in public grounds, meeting places and use of helipad. She asked the party representatives to immediately apprise the CEO of any problem relating to these issues that crops up.

On the issues of election expenditure and use of vehicles, she told the party representatives to inform the concerned district collector, SP and the CEO if any irregularities to this effect come to their notice.

Ms Sharma also told the party representatives that for the benefit of political parties and their candidates, the names of all officials, their designations along with their mobile numbers would be available on the web portal of the Chief Electoral Office .

She also said if there is a need for the change of an electronic voting machine (EVM) in any booth, the office of the CEO would immediately inform all political parties about this.

Among others, Joint CEO Jyoti Prakash Dash, BJD leader Narendra Swain, Congress leaders Sibananda Ray and Uttam Kumar Acharya and BJP leaders Samir Ranjan Mohanty and Bipra Padhi were present at the meeting.

Also Read

Comments are closed.