Vijay Hazare Trophy: Odisha beat star-studded Andhra Pradesh side by 63 runs

Mumbai/Bhubaneswar: Odisha began their Vijay Hazare Trophy campaign in style after beating Andhra Pradesh by 63 runs in their Group A opener on Wednesday.

Andhra Pradesh won the toss and elected to field first at Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai.

Odisha captain Subhranshu Senapati scored 116 off 120 balls (4×8, 6×2) while Govind Poddar added a handy 46 off 55 balls (4×4) as the Wasim Jaffer-led side put 278/5 at the end of 50 overs.

Andhra Pradesh, featuring star names like Ambati Rayudu and KS Bharat and Ricky Bhui, were bundled out for 215 in 46.3 overs.

Veteran Odisha pacer Jayant Behera was the pick of the bowlers as he took four wickets and gave away just 24 runs in 10 overs. Debabrata Pradhan took two wickets while Rajesh Mohanty, List-A debutant Sunil Roul, Abhishek Raut and Poddar took one apiece.

Odisha will next face Gujarat on December 9.


Also Read

Comments are closed.