Voting begins for Jharkhand Assembly polls

Ranchi, Dec 2:

Balloting began Tuesday for 20 of the 81 assembly seats in the second of the five-phase elections in Jharkhand, officials said.
Poll Vote Election

Over 44 lakh voters will decide the fate of 223 candidates in the fray.

A total of 5,051 polling booths have been set up for the second phase.

Polling began at 7 AM and will continue till 5 PM in Jamshedpur (East) and Jamshedpur (West). Balloting will end at 3 PM in the other 18 constituencies.

In the second phase, 17 of the 20 seats are reserved for Scheduled Tribes. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won eight of the seats in the 2009 assembly polls.

Two former chief ministers – Arjun Munda and Madhu Koda – are contesting from Seraikela and Majhgao seats, respectively. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.