Voting begins in Kashmir Assembly polls

Srinagar, Dec 14:

Balloting began Sunday in 18 assembly constituencies in the fourth of the five-phase elections in Jammu and Kashmir, officials said.
Election Commission of India

The constituencies are spread over four districts – Srinagar, Anantnag and Shopian – in the Kashmir valley and Samba district in Jammu region.

Over 14 lakh voters are eligible to decide the fate of political heavyweights like Chief Minister Omar Abdullah and former chief minister Mufti Muhammad Sayeed.

Abdullah of the National Conference is contesting from Sonwar in Srinagar and Peoples Democratic Party leader Sayeed from Anantnag.

A total of 1,890 polling stations have been set up.

Polling started at 8 a.m. and will end at 4 p.m. After the fifth round of polling Dec 20, the votes will be counted Dec 23. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.