Will not quit BJD, says MLA Balabhadra Majhi after denied ticket

Bhubaneswar: Lanjigarh MLA Balabhadra Majhi looks a bit upset but will not quit the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) even after he was denied ticket for the upcoming Assembly polls in Odisha.

“Like others, it is not in my nature to quit the party after being elected as MLA or MP. By the grace of late Biju Patnaik, I was the MLA. I had played few roles during formation of the BJD in 1997. I accept Naveen Patnaik as our leader and he will be my leader in future,” said the five-time legislator.

However, he is aware of the fact why he was disqualified to get the party ticket for the upcoming polls.

“I don’t know the reason behind not getting party ticket for the elections. But, my leader Naveen Patnaik asked me to work for the organisation. I am in the party and will remain as long as Naveen Patnaik is alive,” he told media.

Though Majhi is a winnable candidate, he was denied ticket in the party for the polls. He clarified that he will work under leadership of Patnaik.

“I have been winning since 1990. The CM might have felt something and did not give me ticket. However, I trust him and I will follow his instructions,” he said.

He expressed the fact that his supporters are slightly angry over denial of ticket to him. But for him, his leader remains top priority than his ticket.

“I was elected to Assembly five times and now I am not worried to hold that position any longer. Of course, the supporters will raise question. However, I will convince them and work for the party to make Patnaik the CM for fifth time in Odisha,” he added.

Notably, the BJD has fielded Pradip Disari as the candidature for the Lanjigarh Assembly seat instead of Majhi.

In fact, Majhi had persuaded Disari to join the BJD to strengthen the organisation.

When asked whether he will campaign for the party candidate Disari in the elections, Majhi said, “I am yet to decide.”

Worth mentioning, Majhi was elected to Odisha Legislative Assembly twice on Janata Dal ticket from Narla, twice on BJD ticket from the same assembly constituency. He won Lanjigarh seat in 2014 Assembly polls.

Also Read

Comments are closed.