Women sweep Gujarati literary awards for 2013

Mumbai, Aug 3 :

Women literary figures bagged the lion’s share of Maharashtra State Gujarati Sahitya Academy Awards (MSGSAA) for Gujarati literature published during 2013, an official said here Sunday.

MSGSAA executive president Hemraj Shah, announcing the prestigious awards, said that of the nine awards in various categories, women bagged seven.

The awards shall be presented at a function here Aug 24 on the occasion of World Gujarati Day.

The Chunilal Madia Award for Best Novel went to Jitendra Dave for his work “Udayachal No Surya”, Shah said.

The Vadilal Dagli Award for collection of literary essays was bagged by Dharmesh Bhatt, senior political journalist with Gujarat Samachar daily for his collection “Ne Tu Na Aave”, while the second prize went to Manjari Khandwala, for “Chir Vasant”.

The Ramnarain Pathak Short Story Award first prize went to Chandrika Lodaya for her work “Bhavo-Bhav”, and the second position was bagged by Payal Shah for “Nokhi Duniya, Anokhi Duniya”.

The Harishchandra Bhatt Poetry Award first prize has gone to Mala Kapadia for her collection of poems “Adhi Vatta Trann” and the second slot went to Hansa Pradeep for “Tuhin”.

The first position in the Pragji Dossa Award for Children’s Literature has gone to Tarrini Desai for “Chimpu Dada”, and the second position has been bagged by Kusum Dheersen-Roy for her work “Van Na Anganiya-Jivtu Maru Faliyu”.

Shah said that in each category, the first prize carries a cash reward of Rs.15,000 and the second prize carries Rs.10,000.

“The panel of judges comprised Deepak Mehta, Suresh Thakar-Mehul, Nalini Madgaokar and Deepak Doshi,” he added.


Also Read

Comments are closed.