Actress Varsha Priyadarshini gets ticket; 6 more MLAs dropped as BJD’s 6th Assly poll list out

Bhubaneswar: Ollywood actor Varsha Priyadarshini headed for her political debut as the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) declared her as the party candidate for Odisha Assembly elections scheduled in May.

Varsha, who joined the BJD two days ago, got the party ticket to contest the election from Barchana Assembly Constituency in Jajpur district.

Also Read: Ollywood actor Varsha Priyadarshini joins BJD

The regional party fielded the Ollywood actress sidelining sitting MLA and strong leader Amar Prasad Satpathy, who represented Barchana Assembly Constituency in three consecutive terms.

Along with the 6-time MLA, the tickets were denied to five more BJD leaders — Bhagirathi Sethy, Minakshi Mahanta, Shashi Bhusan Behera, Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi and Sudhansu Sekhar Parida — who won the 2019 Assembly Elections from Anandapur, Champua, Kendrapara, Simulia and Remuna respectively, as per the 6th list of candidates announced by BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik today.

Rather, the BJD selected Abhimanyu Sethi, Sanatan Mahakud, Varsha Priyadarshini, Ganeswar Behera, Subhashini Sahu and Bidyasmita Mahalik in places of above leaders.

Check the 6th list of BJD candidates: 

Chilka: Raghunath Sahu
Anandpur: Abhimanyu Sethi
Saraskana: Debashis Marndi
Karanjia: Basanti Hembram
Remuna: Bidyasmita Mahalik
Simulia: Subhashini Sahu
Barchana: Varsha Priyadarshini
Kendrapada: Ganeswar Behera
Champua: Sanatan Mahakud

Also Read

Comments are closed.