Odisha police to have new chief from New Year

Bhubaneswar: Odisha police is set to have its new chief as the state Government has allowed Director General of Police (DGP) Abhay to retire from service with effect from December 31, 2021.

“Abhay, IPS, Director General of Police, Odisha is allowed to retire from Government Service with effect from December 31 on completion of his tenure as Head of Police Force (HoPF),” reads an official notification issued by the Home Department on Wednesday.

The State government has sent a list of 12 IPS officers to Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) for appointment of the new DGP. The Centre will select three names from the list and recommend the same to Odisha Government, which will finalize one for the appointment.

The new police chief will take charge from January 1, 2022.

Also Read: Senior IPS officer Abhay assumes charges as Odisha DGP

Worth mentioning, DGP Abhay was earlier scheduled to retire in June 2021. However, the State Government had extended his tenure for another six months till December 31.

Also Read

Comments are closed.