2nd Test: England win toss, choose to bowl first against India

London/Bhubaneswar: England have won the toss and elected to bowl first against India in the second Test here at Lord’s on Thursday.


Team news:

England batsman Ollie Pope has been released from the squad for the second Test, said the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Thursday.

Pope was not a part of the England eleven in the rain-affected first Test at Trent Bridge, which ended in a draw.

England captain Joe Root confirmed that Moeen Ali, Haseeb Hameed and Mark Wood are in the starting XI in place of Dan Lawrence, Zak Crawley and Broad. Pace spearhead James Anderson is fit to play.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli meanwhile has brought in Ishant Sharma to replace the injured Shardul Thakur.

England: 1 Rory Burns, 2 Dom Sibley, 3 Haseeb Hameed, 4 Joe Root (capt), 5 Jonny Bairstow, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Sam Curran, 9 Ollie Robinson, 10 Mark Wood, 11 James Anderson

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Cheteshwar Pujuara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Rishabh Pant (wk), 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Jasprit Bumrah, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Mohammed Siraj

Also Read

Comments are closed.