Odisha-born IRS officer appointed CBDT Chairman

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) today approved the appointment of Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer, Jagannath Bidyadhar Mohapatra as Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT). At present, Mohapatra is working as Member of CBDT.

Mohapatra, a 1985-batch IRS officer, was given the additional charge as CBDT Chairman after the extended tenure of incumbent PC Mody ended in May 2021.

Worth mentioning, CBDT frames policy for the Income Tax Department.

Mohapatra, along with his two IRS batchmates, was appointed to CBDT on May 27. His service ends in April next year.

He also served as the Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax for the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana region.

The Central Board of Direct Taxes is headed by a Chairman and can have six Members.

Also Read

Comments are closed.